Skincare Night Routine

I’m not sure when or how it started, my face have been feeling like a greaseball. I remember the days of youth and I thought that I’ve put away the days of reaching out for blotting paper multiple times a day and also having the urge to wash my face each time it greased up were over.

Instead of making the mistakes of the past, I decided to put whatever I’ve learnt over the years to good use. I’m no expert I must confess. I’m constantly learning to listen to my skin and decipher what it needs. And since I concluded that the changes that I’ve made to my night routine greatly attributed to the improvements I see today. I thought it would be nice to share.

Step1 : Cleanse
When your face is oily enough to grease a pan, the natural reaction is to find the strongest cleanser in the market to wash your face so that it feels squeaky clean after.  But bear in mind that feeling might just mean that you are stripping your skin away also from the natural oils it requires. Instead find a gentle cleanser. I’ve been using the COSRX Low pH Good Morning Gel Cleanser.

Step 2: Tone
This is the step known to help close up the pores after you cleanse. It’s important to do so because you really wouldn’t want to trap impurities in your pores. That just leads to a higher chance of having pimples on our skin. I recently open a new toner that I’m trying out and its called the Momo Puri Lotion.

Step 3: Essence / Serum / Ampoule
I don’t always have this step in my routine. But I felt like my skin was yelling out for attention and I wasn’t giving it what it needed. So I reached out for the Bio essence Bio-Gold Rose Gold Ampoule which is targetted at skin repairing and hydration. Its really watery and it absorbs into the skin very easily. For people particular about scent I must warn you that there is a rose scent.

Next I went on with the Lancome Advance Genifique Youth Activating Concentrate. This is really targetted for anti-aging which I haven’t used as often until recently. The main reason why I followed up with this even thou its mainly an anti-aging product. Its because it is suppose to help to strengthen and protect skin’s moisture barrier.

Then I would continue on with with my Estee Lauder Advance Night Repair Serum. I usually use a very small amount of this product. And I used it mainly because I wanted to pack my face up with hydrating ingredients like Hyaluronic acid. And this product is known to intensively hydrate. I must warn that it’s pretty thick, so I do use this sparingly.

Step 4: Moisturize 
I always thought I could skip this step if I have already piled all the serums and ampoule that I stated earlier. But I recently read that this steps help to lock in whatever serums that you have just applied. Currently I’m using the Simple Kind to Skin Hydrating Light Moisturizer. I really like this because its gentle and it absorbs quickly. My skin does not feel piled on and I’m ready for bed.

Compared to the past when I wake up feeling like a greaseball. I feel that the products that I used the night before really helped to hydrate my skin so that it doesn’t feel the need to overly produce any more oil. I hope you enjoyed reading this piece and it helps as I discovered that hydration is key to the my greaseball problem.NightRoutine

Leave a comment